Pages

Monday, February 20, 2006

Hello everybody.

I would like to describe my first day in this company. Actually, it was night. I was allowed to spend a night in the office before joining. I took it as an opportunity to check out the company. Gyani was late as usual (No offence Gyani. You used to handle Smarthinking during the day time).

Act 1, Scene 1:

I was thrusted upon Naveen. Poor guy. He had to show me around the company. Luckily, I came to office just in time for dinner. Slurrpppp....... Time for food. When we went to the terrace, it dawned on me that I would be spending an entire night outside the comfort of home (I had never been out of home later than 11:00 PM). After the first round of dinner, I was reluctant to go for a second helping (I had to look tame on the first day :) ).


Act 1, Scene 2:

I was then taken to meet the great Gyani (I'm sorry to use the adjective 'great', but the then CEO never stopped praising him during the interview. So, I assumed, wrong of course, that he was great). After the initial pleasantries, the show began. Gyani tried to impress me with the whiteboard image lab (No image appeared even though he clicked thrice on the board :)) ). Unable to bear the embarrasment, he thrust a paper at me and chased me off to the next bay. It was a question paper (The same one which he used to chase away a damsel in distress a few days later). People were calling it the ACT paper. Sounded strange. Given two hours to write, I returned within twenty minutes. This time I had to meet someone by the name Rita, who outright refused to accept my paper because I still had an hour and forty minutes to go. Not knowing what to say, I stood there without saying anything. She reconciled herself to her fate and took the paper for correction a few moments later.


Act 1, Scene 3:

In comes Jailaxmi (Just the sound "Oh ho! Finished the paper so quickly. Alright!"). (I needed a full scene for this).


Act 2, Scene 1:

Time for break. Biscuits. I gobbled them up in a hurry.


Act 2, Scene 3: Sorry guys! The rest of it was forgettable (which I conveniently did, until breakfast of course).

1 comment:

Anne said...

Ok! This post runs a close competition for the first place along with the SOP blog. :)
I am just disappointed about one thing: why did you end the drama so soon? Just two acts! :(
Next time, take pity on us poor things and write at least three acts.

P.S : I feel Gyani deserves at least two scenes exclusively for himself. :p